Ovation Award Nominations

Our Frankenstein leads the count with a dozen nominations for LA Stage Alliance’s 31st Ovation Awards (for the 2019/2020 theatre season in Los Angeles). We’re grateful for the recognition from our peers.

Nominations: Best Play Frankenstein / Best Direction Mat Diafos Sweeney / Best Choreography Sebastian Peters-Lazaro / Best Featured Actor Max Baumgarten / Best Featured Actress Joanna Lynn-Jacobs / Best Costume Design Lena Sands / Best Sound Design Alex Hawthorn / Best Projection Design Laskfar Vortok/ Best Lighting Design Brandon Baruch / Best Scenic Design Sebastian Peters-Lazaro / Best Ensemble Max Baumgarten, Lu Coy, Philip Graulty, Yvette Holzwarth, Joanna Lynn-Jacobs, Lukas Papenfusscline, Kila Packett, Craig Piaget, James Vitz-Wong, Katherine Washington, James Waterman & Claire Woolner / Best Season as a part of the Wallis Annenberg Center for the Performing Arts‘ 19/20 performance season

Overseen by LA Stage Alliance, The Ovation Awards are the only peer-judged theatre awards in Los Angeles, created to recognize excellence in theatrical performance, production and design in the Greater Los Angeles area. During the 2019–2020 voting season, 137 productions were registered for awards consideration by 36 producing organizations. Due to the pandemic, the eligibility period was September 1, 2019 through March 31, 2020.